Australiaee open grand slam tennis pratiyogita

yeh varsh ki pratham grand slam tainis pratiyogita hai jo Australia mein aayojit ki jaati hai. Australia me hone ke kaaran iska naam Australiaee open pada hai. iski shuroovaat prat‍aayek varsh January maah hoti hai.

is pratiyogita ki shuruaat 1905 mein veraahausamain cricket maidaan mein hui. ise ostrelesiyn chaimpianship ka naam diya gaya kyonki 1912 tak iska aayojan Australia evam New Zealand donon ne kiya The competition was only expanded to include women's tennis in 1922. Due to the geographical distance separating it from the other tournaments, the top American and European players rarely deigned to travel down to the Antipodes until the end of the 1970s, meaning that the title was almost exclusively won by Australians up until that date.

In 1972, The Australian Tennis Federation decided to change the venue of the event every year, with Sydney, Perth, Brisbane and even New Zealand taking turns to host the tournament. In 1983, the Australian Open set up home in Kooyong, Melbourne, where it began to earn the respect of the tennis-playing world until its move in 1988 to Flinders Park. Grass courts made way for hard Rebound Ace surfaces, and in 1997, Flinders Park was renamed Melbourne Park. Since 1988, the Australian Open is the only Grand Slam tournament to have two courts covered by retractable roofs.